My Daily Routine, Updated!

It’s time for a routine update! Since I’m in middle of the summer season, my current routine focuses on multiple layers of lightweight hydration, antioxidants, sebum control and sun protection.

AM

Processed with VSCO with c3 preset

Good Morning! Fix your face

Cleanser: CosRX Good Morning Cleanser

Cleansing in the morning might seem a little trivial, but think about it : you just (hopefully) spent seven hours sleeping and during that time your skin has been creating sebum and collecting dirt from being mashed against your pillow. Cleaning your skin in the morning gets rid of all the extra oils that have gathered on your face so that you can have a clean slate for your day! This cleanser is gentle, slightly foaming, smells of tea tree and has a balanced pH that won’t strip the skin.

Toner: Innisfree Balancing Toner

This toner has a small handful of benefits that make it perfect for getting my skin ready for my day. The balancing line focuses on oil control, so it keeps my t zone tamed while also helping to moisturize my drier spots on my face. This toner also has an instant brightening effect, helping to revitalize my groggy morning face

Serum: Ariul Berry Vital Daily Defense Serum (Antioxidant)

I’m huge into antioxidants because of their role as a preventative step against aging. When free radicals mess with college, the material that is responsible for the elasticity of you skin, it causes the college to bond with itself – becoming tough and inflexible. To prevent that I use an antioxidant serum both day and night. My daytime antioxidant serum helps to protect my skin from the air pollution that comes from living in a city, which can cause an increase in free radicals.

Treatment/Serum: CosRX Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence (Redness, Inflammation Care, Hydration)

Snail mucin has a handful of benefits that make it a perfect daily use product. It helps to smooth out the texture of skin through naturally occurring AHA’s and it also helps to calm down inflammation and redness. Snail mucin also works as a light moisturizer, which is great because I’m all about my light layers of moisture to quench my rather moody skin.

Lotion: Innisfree Balancing Lotion

Again, from Innisfree’s balancing line, this lotion is super light weight and helps to moisturize my skin while keeping the oily regions under control. It took me a minute to get use to this lotion because it goes on with a slightly tacky texture, but after a few minutes it absorbs without a trace. It’s super light and great for the summer, but will definitely not be enough once we get into the colder seasons.

Sunblock: Innisfree Eco Safety Perfect Sunblock SPF 50/PA+++

This is the first sunscreen that I have fallen in love with. It uses a combination of physical and chemical UV filters to give broad spectrum protection against UVB and UVA rays. It’s not too chalky like some sunscreens, gliding decently onto the skin without leaving a white cast. Physical sunscreen tend to have a “blur” effect, which I’ve always been a fan of, and I was happy that this one does as well.

PM

Processed with VSCO with c3 preset

The crew is all here

 

First Step Oil Cleanser: Botanic Farm Grain Ferment Cleansing Sherbet

First step of my double cleanse! Because I use a rather thick layer of SPF, and occasionally BB cream, a double clneanse ensures that no trace will be left behind. My oil cleanser comes in a balm form that melts down once it comes in contact with my skin, making it much less a mess than liquid oils that tend to slip through my fingers or down my arms. I like to give myself a little face massage during this step. It’s like face therapy.

Second Step Foam Cleanser: CosRX Good Morning Cleanser

Once again, I come in with my foaming cleanser. To get rid of any oil cleanser residue and along with all the gunk it broke up, a foaming cleanser completes the two step process and leaves my face feeling super clean and refreshed without being harsh.

Toner: Acwell Licorice pH Balancing Cleansing Toner

Night time is all about removed the signs of the day from my face so that it’s ready for my night time products to sink in. This toner is perfect for swiping up the last little bits of dirt that might be on my skin while also making sure my skin’s pH is balanced so that it’s the perfect canvas for my routine. Licorice extract is also helpful for acne, fighting against inflammation.

Exfoliant: Paula’s Choice Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid

BHA, also known as salicylic acid, is a chemical exfoliant that I’ve personally loved since I’ve started using it. After balancing my skin’s pH to an optimal level I go in with this and let it sit on my face for 20 mins. BHA exfoliants are great because they go into the pores of the skin and clean them out, reducing future breakouts. I break out SO much less since I’ve started using a BHA. Without a doubt, a must have for me. I use this about 3-4 times a week.

As far as physical exfoliants go, I don’t really use them unless I have flaking skin that I need to get rid of.

Serum: CosRX Snail Mucin 96 power Essence (Redness, Inflammation Care, Hydration)

Once again, my wonderful snail. Since I’m nurturing my skin for night time I tend to use two whole pumps and just slather it on my face. It feels so good and calming. Praise.

Serum: Shara Shara Aqua Bomb (Inflammation, Hyperpigmentation, Elasticity)

I love this product. It’s a gel like serum thats cooling to this skin and contains tons of great botanical extracts. But the star here is the niacinamide. Niacinamide is an antioxidant, good for hydration, and helps to improve skin elasticity while also working to decrease hyperpigmentation, redness and fine lines. It comes in a huge bottle, so I like to use it rather generously all over my face and neck.

Serum: Tosowoong Propolis Ampoule  (Anti-bacterial, the “Glow”)

This was one of my first asian beauty ampoules and it was love at first application. Its another layer of hydration while also providing anti-inflammatory and antibacterial benefits. This product gave my skin that radiant glow from within look.

Eye Cream: Aveda Botanical Kinetics Energizing Eye Cream

I’m pretty lazy when it comes to eye creams. They’re great for keeping the under eyes hydrated, but as far as under eye circles go there’s not much you can do about them. This is a thicker cream that has a bit of antioxidants in it, so it performs its basic functions and makes my eyes happy. At least, it does when I remember to put it on. I forget pretty often.

Cream: Fresh Lotus Youth Preserve Face Cream

I was give this as a gift from a friend, they recommended it to me after I explained my struggles with incredibly dry and oily skin at the same time. It is intensely hydrating and a little heavy, but doesn’t clog up my skin. It creates a nice layer that locks in all of my skincare underneath and leaves my skin nice and plump in the morning.

Leave a Reply

