About Me!

Hi! Welcome to my little corner of the internet, where I rub things into my face. My name is Eugene. Some people call me Gene, others call me Genie.

I’m a half Korean and half Puerto Rican boy who’s always had a thing for skin care, thanks to my mom. I started off with cleansers, toners, and lotions at an early age and never looked back. After years of following my mom’s skin care knowledge, I stumbled upon Korean skincare on my own at 23.

Having the cultural influence of a Korean mother and Puerto Rican father while growing up in suburban Georgia makes for some interesting dynamics. I wouldn’t exactly say that men in the south are typically known for the detail they put into their skincare routine. I know guys who are afraid to even use sunscreen because it isn’t “manly.”

IMG_0442.JPG

Maybe these sheet mask are manly enough for them

My mom raised me in an environment where we were really concerned about what was “manly” and what was “girly,” since Koreans don’t care about those roles as much as Americans do. I just like what I like 🙂

I was free from the shackles of western social constructs, so that I may be tied down by bottles of serums, creams and stacks of sheet mask!

IMG_2232

My pretty babies

One thing I wasn’t able to escape was the southern weather. Guys, summer in Georgia is not fun. It’s hot. And muggy. The humidity combines with the heat and you can physically feel how heavy and muggy the weather is. All that heat and sweat mean a constant balancing act of finding hydration without turning into an oil slick.  Whenever winter comes I get so excited because the air drys out and my skin goes back to being consistently clear. But oh dear lord the summers are just so miserable.

Because of the two extremes that Georgia weather dishes out, it’s absolutely mandatory to have a different skin routine for summer, spring/fall and winter. In the winter it’s all about nourishing the skin, restoring hydration that the cold takes from my face. During the summer, it’s about light lotions and acne/problem fighting products.

IMG_2107

And sheet masks. Lots of them

More nights often than not, I find myself  watching YouTube videos about skin care or reading about skin care instead of Netflixing. If I am watching Netflix you can bet I’m sheet masking!

I believe skin care becomes a lifestyle, just like how healthy eating and working out is a lifestyle in its own. These things require so much effort to be incorporated into our day to day life that you *have* to dedicate yourself to the cause. This dedication is more than worth it, once you start seeing progress it becomes addicting – it’s an amazing feeling.

Here’s to glowing skin, healthy bodies, and an curiousity to see what else I can slather on my face to keep it hydrated!

– GenieGene

8 thoughts on “About Me!

  1. Curious says:

    Are you paid or compensated in any manner for posting these reviews and mentioning these products here and/or on your Instagram account?

    Like

  2. aizelmacaldo says:

    “I believe skincare becomes a lifestyle, just like how healthy eating and working out is a lifestyle in its own. These things require so much effort to be incorporated into our day to day life that you *have* to dedicated yourself to the cause. This dedication is more than worth it, once you start seeing progress it becomes addicting – it’s an amazing feeling. If you want to glow on the outside, you start by glowing from the inside.”— I couldn’t agree more! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

